Love Restrictions

So my co-worker thought he over heard me telling my old boss that I was engaged. If he was listening hard enough he would have really heard me say that I can see myself engaged soon.

Later that day, he randomly said “I heard you mention that you’re engaed. I don’t see a ring but I’m so happy for you. Aren’t things moving a little fast though?” I had to politely tell him we’ve been doing for six months, I didn’t have a ring on my finger becauseI’m not engaged.

He rudely replied “Well that’s good! I think six months is too short of a period to be engaged.” I’m sure you can imagine my face at this point. I was already irritated that he was being nosey.

I encouraged him not to be so nosey. I was surprised when my current boss chimed in and agreed. She told him that she and her husband only dated for 2 months before they were married. They’ve been married for 16 years. I wish you could have seen his face… Priceless!

But the point here is that love doesn’t have a specific timeframe. I know couples who dated a very long time and have been divorced the same amount of time. Even if I was engaged, it’s based on love. That’s it.

Society has set these standards for couples and love. I’m no expert. But love happens whenever it is supposed to. There isn’t a specific calendar that we are supposed to refer to. There isn’t an app that sends push notifications and reminders of where you should be in your relationship. If both of you are putting in 100% and love each other 200%, then I say go for it.

Whether it’s been 2 months/ 1 year or 5 years…. It’s up to that couple. Not some ridiculous ideal time frame that society has placed on us. Love freely with no time restrictions.

~Am I N_My_Write_Mind?

One thought on “Love Restrictions

  1. Agreed. Further, no body’s business but the two individuals in love, or in covenant with one another. With God in the planning, and with a gentle urging from the Holy Spirit…do you.

Leave a Reply

