The Heart Of A Supporter

There’s been a growing amount of love activity going on around me. While I no longer believe in romantic love for myself, I still believe in love for others. I like everyone being in love and finding these mates.

Even watching the Olympics, husband of Hungarian swimmer, Katinka Hosszu melted my heart the way he rooted for his wife. While some thought he was a bit obsessive with his yelling, screaming and harsh motivational words, he still has the heart of a supporter. That’s definitely more than what most can say they get from their significant others.

I was glancing over my IG feed and one post caught my eye. “I’m wondering if he loves me because he doesn’t support my endeavors.” Pause. Wait.What? You mean to tell me that you thought about it long enough to even post it? Publicly? I wanted DM her right away and tell her, “Nope. He sure doesn’t.”

I know what it’s like to have someone not believe in you. Instead of me getting upset, it actually just lit a fire in my behind. I worked harder to reach my goal. Even after he told me it couldn’t be done. I had these ideas and I would ask him his opinion from a male perspective. He would sometimes ignore my requests or he would simply say he didn’t care. How rude?!! But what’s even more rude? I wrote not one but two books without his help or support.

What’s a mate who isn’t there for moral support? What’s a friend that doesn’t like anything positive going on in your life? What’s a family member who is always negative and doesn’t think any ideas will work, even if you know in your heart, it’s the right thing? Vaguely, it would be just a negative person. But in our terms, it is a HATER. Someone who doesn’t want to see you doing better than them or doesn’t like the fact that you want more and see more out of life.

Let’s say you have a business and post it on social media. You ask them to repost because that could potentially reach an audience you don’t have. But they say no because they don’t want people in your business. It will cause drama if people found out you dated… Ut ummm *clears that… There’s something wrong right this picture. It shouldn’t matter who will know if you are dating if it isn’t a problem. Your relationship business should be the secret. YOU shouldn’t be the secret. Ladies and gentlemen, listen to me, please. If you are dating someone and they don’t support the positive things in your life, you need to rethink that relationship.

Let’s pretend you ask them to to go with you to a networking event. You know it could turn into a date night and a business opportunity. They say they’d rather stay in the house and chill because anything that has to do with your business plan is just not their thing… Red flag. If you’re in a relationship with me, my business is my thing therefore, it’s now your thing too.

What I’m trying to get at here, is if you are going to be in a relationship, you shouldn’t have to question their support in your endeavors. Your partner should have so much support that there should be no doubt or question if they are into you. Be into someone with a heart of supporter.

~Am I N_My_Write_Mind?

2 thoughts on “The Heart Of A Supporter

  1. I totally agree with this post. Relationships and friendships should be consistent in the form of support. If you love a person whether you see eye to eye in their goals and ambition, it shouldn’t be hard to cheer for them. People forget that this just like anything else is a two way street. Loyalty is definitely lacking in these days and times. Especially for women of color, we have it hard sometimes in wanting more and needing people in our corner!

  2. I totally agree with this post. In relationships and friendships whether you see eye to eye on ambitions or goals, their needs to be support given. If you truly love someone being a cheerleader in that person’s life shouldn’t be hard. And I feel women of color get the short end this stick far too many times unfortunately.

Leave a Reply

