Pretty Red Exterior

Some cars have a pretty red exterior but the engine doesn’t function. At that point, what good is that car for if it only portrays a nice shiny color?

I was talking to one of my friends about his vehicle this morning. He explained that he feared that it would break down on him at any time. I was surprised that he was having trouble with this car. I had to ask if he had another car that I didn’t know about… If you were to look at the exterior of his car, you have no clue that it was on the verge of falling apart. The paint is nice, the fabric is clean and it has the new car smell. But under that hood.. Oh Boy! It’s a different story. I lost count of how many things he said was wrong with the car.

That’s how we are are as people. We look just fine on the outside. Our exterior is grand and we put on a front that we’re ok. Our skin is vibrant, illuminating and shimmery. But that doesn’t show how black our hearts are. This is another reason why we shouldn’t judge people based on how they look or dress. We can cover up with clothes and make-up. But eventually what’s killing us inside will eventually start to show.

I’ve run into people who feed off of comments of what they look like on the outside. They have every intention on making themselves look the best every morning. But what they don’t care to work on is how ugly their personality is. How can you expect someone to find you attractive if you treat people poorly?

What will eventually happen is the darkness of your heart will start to show on the outside. Just like a broken down car. It will start off as something small being wrong. You may try to cover it up or get a quick, cheap fix. But that quick fix will lead to something else going wrong. Then the next thing you know, something major will go wrong and it will break down.

Don’t be that car with a pretty red exterior with a jacked up engine. A non functioning car is of no use to anyone but the owner of a junk yard.

~Am I N_My_Write_Mind?

2 thoughts on “Pretty Red Exterior

  1. Well written… This is so true. I have days when I try and do my makeup, put on red lipstick only to cover up how sad I am at times. Reading this put some things in perspective for me personally, and the people around me everyday.

Leave a Reply

