Life On Cruise Control

So I had a moment this morning while I on my way to work. As soon as I got off the freeway, I followed behind this man who was driving under the speed limit. He was just cruising along with no care in the world. Sunglasses on, windows down and arm rested on the door. My immediate reaction was “OMG. Why are your driving so slow? You can at least drive the speed limit!” Internally, I cussed him for a couple of blocks. As I sped past him, he never looked my way. He continued with the same posture going slowly toward his destination. He wasn’t worried about who sped past time. No cares given about what others thought.

After much thought, it must be nice not to rush. It must be nice to just enjoy the drive and the scenery without a care in the world. While the rest of us were rushing to get somewhere, he cruised on taking in every bit of second. It was almost as if he had the car on cruise control.

Some of us need to our lives on cruise control.  We rush to get to red lights. We rush to get there on time. We rush because we were unsuccessful with time management. I get anxious trying to figure out what’s next. I worry what will happen if I do this or if I do that. I know I’m not the only person who wants control over the future.

How about we stop worrying about what’s up ahead and face it when we get there? Just like those red lights on the roads, we’ll experience some of those. But that doesn’t mean we don’t get to continue on to our journeys.

Maybe that drive into work was to tell to put my life on cruise control and just ride out. I’ll eventually get to where I need to be. Perhaps it’s just not in the same fashion as others. But I’ll get there.

~Am I N_My_Write_Mind?

Leave a Reply

