Debating With Perception

What a Monday I had. It’s those moments you wake up and know something doesn’t feel right about your day. Your routine is out of whack, you’re running late for work and your morning drive to work is a bit more hostile than normal. But it was an encounter I had this morning that really set the tone for the day.

Have your ever debated with someone only to realize, you were debating with a fool? That would make you even more of a fool right? Well I felt that way this morning. I was trying to prove a point that I became so angry that I almost lost myself and what I stood for. There’s no point in debating when the other party doesn’t want to compromise. Of course everyone wants things to go their way. But no one on either side wants to give in. It’s pretty pointless and a waste of time, breath, energy and words.

I may have put this in a previous post. But I once read “Don’t waste words on people who deserve your silence. Sometimes the most powerful thing you can do is say nothing at all.” I had that light bulb moment after the fact. I should have kept my mouth shut and not responded to the nonsense.

Then there’s that idea of debating with someone who doesn’t respect you or who you don’t respect. Respect is so important that we often disrespect others just trying to prove a point. It’s true that we have to demand respect. But I’m not going to demand it from someone who doesn’t respect themselves.

I had to realize that people’s perception of me is the only weight they have of who I really am. Debating based on perception is a dangerous move. I almost made that move today. It was then I made the conclusion that I shouldn’t have to prove myself based on a mere perception of what they think I am versus who I really am.

~Am I N_My_Write_Mind?

Leave a Reply

