Dirty Laundry? What Do You Do With It?

I think this is more of a public service announcement than a blog. Ladies and gents: What happens with your relationships should stay between the two of you. Whether it’s between an ex-husband, ex-boyfriend, ex-friend or even a family member you’ve disassociated with, keep it between you.

This morning, I saw post that said something like “My child’s father isn’t what he pretends to be. He’s triffling, he lied about having a high school diploma and likes men on the side. He pretends to be happy in his marriage but secretly texts me that he wants me back. He cheated on his wife with me and one of his friends a few times.”   I’m sure after I read it, I had the “snuggle face” and immediately followed by the “pee-yew!” face.

I had all kinds of thoughts on this post. But I kept my thoughts for the blog. But why tell the entire world this? What good has it done? I actually see this person in a different light. Not someone I would want to trust (not that I trusted them before). But definitely not someone I would trust now to be my friend. Although she said all of this, I’m not looking at him awkwardly, I’m looking at her awkwardly. If he was such a bad person, then why stay with him and have a baby? If I’m not mistaken, I thought they were about to get married. But that’s not the point. The point was that she publicly posted all of this information that she meant as negatively toward him. However, it was more negative toward her.

Just because you are upset, hurt or disappointed, it doesn’t mean that you are entitled to air the other person’s dirty laundry. Using social media, e-mails or texts to “get back” at someone is just not a proper answer to repairing your hurt. In fact, I think it does an injustice to you more than it does to them.

Society will take your information and eat you up. Meaning airing dirty laundry will only come back to bite you in the butt. Social media is set up to take what you wrote and make it their own. Although you may erase it after the fact, it can be recalled and captured. It never goes away. It won’t even be about who you originally wrote about, it will become about you and who you are.

So what do you do with your dirty laundry? Keep it between yourselves. Let’s work on not airing the dirty laundry for the sake of your own name, reputation and character.

~Am I N_My_Write_Mind?

Leave a comment