Own Who You Are

Why don’t we want to own up to who we are? Why wish that we were a totally different person? God made us what we are supposed to be. It is our responsibility to own up to exactly who we are. Example, I am a writer and an avid reader. I prefer not to get caught up in the television drama. All of my friends on the other hand are reality tv experts. I’m always the odd ball in the conversations and sometimes feel lost because I have no clue what they are talking about. I get blank stares from others when I say I don’t watch tv. But it is who I am. I own up that I’m quite nerdy when it comes to tv.

There’s this certain comment that has been bothering me for a while. “I wish I was like that.” Then it was followed by “I dream of being like her.” At that moment, the only words of advice I had was to not wish she was like anyone but herself. Sure there are characteristics we prefer over others. There are items that others have that we wished we possessed. It is true that the grass may be greener on the other side. We have to stop and think what they did to ensure their grass was green and nicely manicured.

But we can not look at anyone else and just plain wish it was us in that position. The struggle is hidden. We don’t know what someone has gone through to get what they have. Also everyone has flaws. When you wish to be someone else, perhaps you are asking to take up their flaws as well. We should take our flaws and allow ourselves to build on those flaws. This is the perfect opportunity for personal growth.

My hope is that more people would own up to exactly who and what they are.

~Am I N_My_Write_Mind?

Leave a Reply

