Desire and Value

Some of the best life lessons come from those most difficult situations. It may take us a few times to get it or a longer time during the storm to learn the lesson. But in the end, it’s a lesson learned.

One of my lessons was learning the difference between desire and value. Just because something or someone seems desirable, doesn’t mean that it’s for us. Settling for the least just because we want it, doesn’t do us any good. The same with people. Just because the dialogue shows that they desire you, it doesn’t mean that they value you.

We see something or someone and we say in the back of our heads “Ooh, I want that,” or “Ooh I want them.” But if we really think about it, do we really want it/them?” I would say 7 out of 10 times, our eyes are bigger than what we can handle.

Let me be quite honest and frank, if what you are desiring or if someone desires you, think about what part of it you are desiring or what they desire about you. The question is “Is this adding value to my life?” If it’s a person that says they desire you, ask yourself “Do they value me, my time, my views and my character?” If the answer is no to any of those, then it is just desire.

From experience, I had to learn to surround myself with those people that value me, who can add value to my purpose. Then if it’s something or someone I desired, I learned to evaluate if what I desired about them or it was essentially beneficial to me. If the answer was no, then there was no point in me pursuing. I had to let it go.

Surround yourself with things and people who hold and add value and not just desire.

~Am I N_My_Write_Mind?

Leave a Reply

