When No One Is Watching

I saw a quote the other day and I should have written it down. But I believe it was something like “Do the right thing, even when no one is watching.” I could write for days how it’s always best to do the right thing no matter what. But life is hard and always doing the right thing is even more difficult.

There are times when I know for sure doing something wrong will feel so right. But then I remind myself of what could happen if I did the wrong thing. That includes saying harsh words to someone when they make me upset, ignoring someone just because I don’t like them, not helping when I’m in a position to do so and so on…

But doing the right thing doesn’t always go unnoticed. I was minding my own business when I received a message that said “Thank you for what you do. I know you don’t get a lot of recognition for helping. But that’s because you don’t seek recognition because you don’t know that you are truly helping someone. But you do. You are a blessing to someone, especially me and I just want to say thank you.”

Wow. What a comment. To be a blessing to someone when you aren’t even trying to be is a great feeling. I’m sharing this to say that good doesn’t have to always be put on display. The quote says “even when no one is watching.” But there will always be someone around who will recognize what and who you are. But it is up to you to always do and be your best even when you don’t think someone is watching.
Allow someone to see your light shine, even when you had no intention to shine. You never know who needs it.

~Am I N_My_Write_Mind?

Leave a Reply

