Farewell to 2014

I expected 2014 to be even better to me than 2013. There’s so much room for me to complain about what DIDN’T happen. But guess what? This is the perfect opportunity to brag about what DID happen and why I’m still blessed. Whether 2014 was good to me or not, I have to say I’m grateful for grace and mercy. I’m thankful that He allowed me one more year under my belt.

Allow me to elaborate on what did happen for me in 2014:

I became the editor-in-chief for my church newsletter. This is my chance to write outside of my normal fiction books and blogging. I kept questioning what it was I was supposed to be doing in the church. Well, this had my name written all over it. I can only pray that 2015 allows me a greater opportunity to bless those in my writing and editorial choices. I’ve also grown in my relationship with God.

I released book 2 of my Intentions series. Although the turnout did not have large numbers as my first book, I was still able to showcase my writing ability to those that did support me. My hope is to do and be bigger and better for the next year.
The vision board I created gave me much motivation to reach my goals. Although I didn’t meet all of them, I learned that just a quick glance will remind me that it is possible if I just keep at it and don’t give up.

I finally received a promotion. The fight was long and drawn out. But I won. I finally won the battle. With the assistance of prayer and patience, I finally see the light at the end of the tunnel. For years, I questioned my going back to school. But I see that extending my education wasn’t for nothing.

I found it in my heart to forgive some folks. The build up of anger, mistrust and resentment had a hold of my joy. I finally decided that it wasn’t worth it. I called up those individuals and told them I wasn’t upset anymore and I was finally able to let go. Oh, what a feeling to release!

I would have to say these are my top five. Of course there are 500k more I could talk about. You could be reading for days. But just as I told 2013 goodbye, I’m saying the same for 2014. Farewell 2014.

To the year 2015:
We just met and I do not know how you will treat me. All I can do is pray that you are good to me. Any challenges you have up your sleeve, I’m counting on God to be by my side to defeat them. I will forecast that at the end of your term, I will be thanking you for a bigger, better and greater year than 2014. My best friend challenged me to choose a word that would be my theme for the year. My word was perseverance. Yes I will endure through it. I will be stronger than ever. I will be a much better person.

~Am I N_My_Write_Mind?

Leave a Reply

