Praise Report

For years I’ve watched other people head ministries in the church. I often wondered what I would be good at or who would need my help. There’s been times when I’ve tried to find my niche in the church. How can I minister to others? How could I show God that I want to grow my relationship with Him? When would I get my chance to participate in a ministry?

The only thing I could think of was writing. But years continued to pass with me being a pew warmer. I can hold a few tunes, but the choir wasn’t for me. Counting money, teaching and ushering all sound like good duties. But they weren’t my calling.

Again, all I could think about was writing. How could I use my writing skills to serve the Lord? Certainly, He gave me the gift to write and certainly His intention is for me to use the gift He gave to me.

One Sunday after church, I was cleaning out my purse. Folded and tucked away, I found a half sheet of paper. On that paper was information about the church newsletter. A newsletter? Since when did we have a newsletter?

After asking around, I discovered that we didn’t actually have one yet. Here was my opportunity to step up. I’d been slacking in serving on a ministry. But here was my opportunity.

In the beginning, it was just me I struggled to determine what it would look like. I often questioned if it would hold up to the standards of the church leadership. I surely don’t know everything about the Bible and I was afraid that seasoned Christians wouldn’t approve of the content of my writing.

But I’m in the final stages of publishing the first issue. I’m happy to announce that I’m the Editor in Chief of the church newsletter. That’s with the help of my friend who serves as the Communications Manager. My Pastor called me and said he wanted her to help me. He knew exactly what he was doing because I think we are a great team. It wouldn’t be what it is without her help.

Now that I’m over those initial fears, I’m more confident in this ministry. My God knows exactly what we need when we need it. He knew I was searching for the perfect way to serve Him. This is truly a blessing and a perfect way to utilize my gift He gave to me toward His praise.

~Am I N_My_Write_Mind?

Leave a Reply

