Choose Your Words Wisely

Someone texted me some awesome news yesterday. I told them I was happy for them. But I also included that I hadn’t really talked to them in a few weeks. They texted me back and asked why I kept saying that. I really didn’t mean it in a bad way. I was really saying that I hadn’t done my part in being a friend lately.

Before I went to bed, I had to analyze how the conversation went wrong. (This is part of me being emotional. See my last post). In deep thought, I realized I probably shouldn’t have input that part when they were sharing good news. That’s one of those awkward moments when you think you’re inputting a piece of the conversation that really could have been eliminated. Very awkward moment. It was such a happy moment that turned sour quickly.

But the point is I texted it. Although I didn’t mean any harm, the person on the other end could have been offended or hurt. Being mindful of what we say, how we say it and when we say it is part of great communication. We have to be careful of what we say and when we say it. Too many times we blurt out the first thing on our minds. What we think may be the right thing to say at that moment,  may not be the best for that situation. This was supposed to be joyful moment. But due to my bad communication, it only lasted a few moments.

By the way because this was a text message, it kind of made things even worse. Communicaiton via text allows us choose and control when we respond. But we can’t control the under tone in a text. A simple yes or no text can turn into another issue. We can’t hear tone via text so we are pressured to read the text message and take it for what it is.

Whether we are communicating through voice or print, we must be careful with our words. Conversation can go sour quickly simply based on what we say, the timing and the method of communication.

~Am I N_My_Write_Mind?

Don’t forget to check my website www.wordsbywritemind.com to check out my latest news and updates!

Leave a Reply

