I Will Ruin You- Character Analysis

I just read a status that said “I have information that will ruin you”. That’s a real life threat… I read it as be “You better be nice to me or I’ll tell.” Sounds like someone is having a bad day. That threat isn’t nice at all. Is the benefit of ruining someone else pay more than ruining your own reputation as a good friend? If someone told me something in confidence and I trusted them that much, I would pray that I wouldn’t be so angry to tell the world something that could “ruin them”. No matter what they did or said, it doesn’t amount to the integrity you should already hold.

What does that say about your character? Whatever information you have may just hurt them at that moment. But I’m sure you would feel like some sort of snitch afterwards. Where I’m from, snitches get stitches. So all while you are ranting on about something so hurtful, I bet the guilt and embarrassment of being a snitch will hurt you even more.

Did you ever think that, they once thought of you as a friend to even tell you? So even if you aren’t friends anymore, it would be clear what kind of person you are to future patrons. I’ve lost a lot of people that I called friends but I will always wear a badge of honor that says “You’re secret is safe with me.” Just because that is the right thing to do.

We have to start lifting people and not tearing them down. We have to be careful who we trust and who we tell things to. Maybe they did hurt you and you can no longer salvage that relationship. But that does not give you the right to go tell the world what they told you in confidence. Anger will make people do crazy things.

~Am I N_My_Write_Mind?

Leave a Reply

