Is Your Criticism Effective?

Im a writer. My purpose is to entertain with words by telling a story. If I haven’t entertained then I’m not doing my job right. My purpose would be null and void. I’m always in search of ways to make myself better. If I’m not finding potential flaws and work on them then I’m not growing. I certainly do not want to reach a plateau of not not growing.

With that being said, I’m very open and accepting of people giving me feedback. What ever they say may potentially make me a better person and or writer. I’ve heard through the grapevine that some weren’t too fond of my book “It’s too raunchy” or “she self published so it must not be good” and “she’s supposed to be a Christian”… blah blah blah. Now all of that is hearsay because no one has actually said them to my face. I could address each of those comments individually. However I made the decision to do what I want, how I want and when I want. Preference of entertainment is based on each one’s likings.

Just recently I had someone walk up to me and tell me they didn’t finish the book because they were bored after the fifth chapter. Now I was thinking to myself “That’s really when you get into character character building“. But I let him go on and on about what audience he thought I should appeal to and what kind of characters he liked. Ok sir you’ve stated you weren’t interested. But I then asked “Well what do you think was missing? What made you think you were bored?” He couldn’t give me an answer.  He stood there in silence and shrugged his shoulders.

I was hoping he would give me this profound explaination about what he didn’t like and some type of suggestion to make things “more interesting”. So then I decided this is not very good feedback. This isn’t effective criticism. He couldn’t give me a valid reason as to why he didn’t like it. I accepted that he was in pure dislike of my book. But I just couldn’t accept that he had no explaination.

I yearn for effective criticism. I know not everyone is going to like what I do or how I do it. That’s not even humanly possible for everyone to be fond of what I do. But I would expect if you have the intention of giving someone feedback that you would at least include an acceptable explaination of why. A why would allow me to work on a solution to how.. how to make it better.

So for future, I respect and accept feedback along with thumbs down. But I would appreciate the thumbs down with a clear reason of why the thumbs down. Just because doesn’t work for me as effective criticism.

~Am I N_My_Write_Mind?

Leave a Reply

