Is It Jealousy Or Competition?

We all know that honesty can be quite hurtful. Today, I had to tell someone the truth and I’m sure my words may have stung a little. But as I wrote, I promised to be nothing less than honest in my words in 2014. Well, here we are January 1, 2014 and I’m already going full throttle on my vision board. Honesty.

Here’s some background… Someone told me that they weren’t a jealous person but they may have been a little jealous for a second toward someone they use to date. Both agreed that they were single and both also agreed that they could work toward being together again. Now this conversation happened a few months ago. However, the truth of the matter is that they are both in the same place they were a few months ago.

My response to their jealousy remark: “Why be jealous? The only real competition you have is yourself.  If you were doing everything you were supposed to do to keep them then there shouldn’t be any doubt in your mind about what they were doing and you being jealous.”

Key word here? Competition. I find it hard to say that they were actually jealous. I’m not a doctor but I’ve taken it upon myself and diagnosed them with the “I just realized that there could be some type of competition for someone I want and I’m a little upset that I messed my chance up” syndrome. Yes, I have made up my own diagnosis but that’s what it’s called. After you realize that there is a possible competitor, think about who the real competitor is. Yourself.

It’s not jealousy at all. It’s simply a vision of realness. You have that quick Oh sh!t moment. Those type of moments are jealousy. Just based on the mere fact that they questioned the other person is a symptom of this syndrome. If you want to be with someone, you should be doing everything you can. Excuses leave the door open for a possible competitor to come in. This my friend is a fear of losing what you already lost.

Get out of your own way and eliminate the competition.

~Am I N_My_Write_Mind?

Leave a Reply

