I’m Ok With Not Getting 100% Support

In preparation with my book release, someone asked if I was scared that people aren’t willing to support me. “You have this big dream and so many ideas? But how do you get people to support you?” My reply was simple. Not everyone is going to support. Not everyone sees my vision as I do. But in response to getting people to support, I mentioned that it’s not always 50/50 when it comes to supporting someone. You ever go to all the functions you are invited to? Then when its time for them to support you, you get nothing but excuses. Tuh? Happens all the time.  

Don’t worry if its up to your standards. Support it anyway because guess what? There will be an abundance of critics including those close to you who will be brutally honest. You’ll have people who like your product just because they are fond of you. Or they will take the time out to truly critique you and your product because they genuinely care. 

Then you’ll have those folk who will be disappointed in your work just because they don’t care for you and/or didn’t take the time out to get to know you. Either way, not everyone will like you or your product. However, this doesn’t mean you should stop supporting others. We all need support. We all need feedback and we all need guidance.

So to answer their question, yes I am fearful of people not supporting me and what I do. Yes, I am nervous that people will not like my products. But this all just means I am excited, compassionate and anxious about what I do. I’m willing to become better with any recommendations. But this doesn’t mean that I will stop supporting others just because they don’t support me. 

It’s so cliche but it’s true. You don’t have to like me or what I do. But you will respect me and what I stand for. I thank all of those for their support anyway. 

 ~Am I N_My_Write_Mind?

Leave a Reply

