Unconventional Dating

This has to be the easiest way to get a good laugh in. My friend and I were discussing how hard it is to date and how the pool of good men is pretty much dry. Then we get on the subject of unconventional dating: online dating. What an easy way to be embarrassed.

We were really online looking at people’s photos. This was my first issue. If you want someone to take you seriously, why post pics with your shirt off and you have the biggest stomach with hair that resembles taco meat? Or what about your pic shows you with a mouth full of gold teeth and a head full of braids. It doesn’t help that your profile was full of misspelled words or so brief that we couldn’t understand your text message short hand. Is this really what she had to choose from?

She asked me to join in. How could I bring myself to join in this as I was already turned off by these unappealing profiles? My thoughts are why do I have to pay for something that I should be doing in person. I feel like we are merely judging people by a picture and a profile. Although after the brief review, judgement was necessary to weave out the bad ones for her.

This uneasy feeling led me to believe that there may be some deeper issues. Why is he single that he now depends on finding dates or maybe just female friends online? Maybe he’s crazy. Maybe he has a temper. Maybe he has too many kids. But he could be saying the same thing about her.

You could argue that it’s just a broader channel for singles to meet other singles and it’s not different than traditional dating. I’m just not sold on the online dating. Maybe it will work for her and she can prove me wrong. As I’m typing this blog, she’s forwarding profile pictures to me and trying to get me to join in……That’s ok. I’ll just continue to get free laughs.

~Am I N_My_Write_Mind?

Leave a Reply

