The Ideal Relationship

I first want to give a shout out to my buddy D Mac for posting this on Instagram and Twitter. This thought runs through my mind daily but never knew how to put it into words. Thank you for your words.

“I want a relationship where we talk like best friends, argue like husband and wife and protect each other like siblings.”- D. Mac

This is exactly what I look for, along with other things. How about a job, your own place and your own vehicle. Those three things seem so easy to have.

This idea seems so simple, right? Not exactly. It’s so hard to just get these simple characteristics in one person. I went through a phase when I actually had a written list of what I wanted in a man. That list has decreased tremendously. Why?  As we get older we are forced to lower our standards every year. For example I wanted a man with no kids. As each year passes, it becomes more difficult to find a guy with no kids. They are a rare breed.

But with all of these simple characteristics, we get a bunch of other factors that we’d rather not have. Maybe they are lazy, maybe they’re too dependent. Maybe they have a bland personality. Or what about a homebody, too skinny, too fat, too light, too dark, etc. While we list a bunch of things we want in a person, how easy is it find that one person who meets all of these requirements? There is no ease in finding these people.

I may get someone that I can call my friend, argue with and protect me. However, what if they don’t have a job. As stated in a previous post:  I get that people have preferences. People like skinny, fat, tall, short, light dark, long hair, short hair, etc. I actually get that part. But what about those easy, obtainable factors that we search for? People just don’t have them.

Can we actually be happy if we get someone that is the exact opposite of what we say we want? I don’t think so. But on the other hand all we have is an idea of what an ideal relationship may be. However, a relationship where we will get everything we ask for is non existent.

~Am I N_My_Write_Mind?

3 thoughts on “The Ideal Relationship

  1. I totally agree. However, with the job, kids, cars, own place, I now have learned to ask, How do you treat your mom? Whats your relationship like with God? Do you pray or read the Bible?, and if he prays, lets pray right now. I need a man of God. Not some weak-minded individual that sags his pants, wants gold teeth and lacks the ability to stimulate my mind. Not with penetration but with a conversation. Lets talk about your short and learn term goal, not media takeout, Facebook, or any of the other social media interruptions. What is a man willing to sacrifice to be in a relationship with me? I surrender the spirit of lowering my standards for a man that’s not on my level or the level i’m lowering myself too……

    • That’s exactly what I want is a man of God who can stimulate my mind. We often run into men who are the exact opposite of what we say we want. Then after we realize what we’ve gotten ourselves into, it becomes a battle of “How do I get rid of them now? I’m in too deep.” I think now it’s a matter of how do we relay what we want upfront so we don’t get in too deep? We don’t want to come off as being this snotty, stuck up woman. However, I do think it is important to make sure we communicate exactly what we want.

Leave a Reply

