Awkward Text Messages Cause for Awkward Moments

I’m sure we’ve all had those awkward, unexpected text messages from the ex. You know those messages just to see if you’ll respond, if you still have their number saved or if they can still get in good. I actually chuckle at these messages. It’s pretty funny when people realize what you mean to them after it’s too late. These are just a few examples of ones that I’ve received:

“How are you. I’ve been thinking about you lately.”

“I know you are probably mad and don’t want to talk to me but I really love you and miss you”

“I swear to God. It’s so true that you never miss a good thing until it’s gone. You’re gone and now I’m sitting here looking stupid”

Bla, blah, blah. It’s the same thing over and over. I bet these text messages only roll in when the current girlfriend has made them mad or they realize what they’ve gotten themselves into. I just delete those messages. No response needed. No need in carrying on conversations with individuals that don’t matter through text.

Depending on the number, someone may get a rude awakening from me if they call.  I’m not good with remembering numbers and surely not good keeping numbers taking up space in my phone. Once I’ve decided that it’s over, I delete contacts, messages and call histories. Then, if for some reason I have your e-mail, I delete that too.

There is no reason to keep all of this information. The awkwardness of it is when I answer my phone not knowing who’s calling. I’m currently looking for a job so I think it could be someone calling me back about a job. Then I find out, its actually one of those exes I’d rather not talk to. Then they absolutely hate when this happens:

Them: What’s up?

Me: Who is this?

Them: Oh so you deleted my number? I see how it is. That’s pretty messed up. So you just delete me, huh.

(After I realize who it is by the voice) Me: Umm. Sorry. I didn’t think there was a reason to keep your information. But how can I help you?

Them: You can start by not being so mean and talk to me.

Me: I don’t think that’s a good idea. But you can have a nice life (hangs up phone). 

I don’t know what they expected. They were willing to put in the time and effort when we dated. So why should I be willing to put in my time and effort because they missed out?… I have no idea but I’ll pass on that awkward moment.

~Am I N_My_Write_Mind?

Leave a Reply

