My Heart Says Yes, But My Mind Says Hell No

You ever had something so heavy on your mind that it consumes you? I mean so deep that you get mad at yourself for letting it bother you that much. I’ve had a few things on my mind lately that I’ve been bothered by.

They always say follow your heart. But there’s the possibility my heart is going the wrong way. Well, at least it’s the way I think I should go. I’ve laid it all out. Even writing it down (my favorite pastime) and I still have no type of resolution. On one hand I hold the power to change what it is I’m battling. But that other hand holds nothing. It’s just empty and holding a splash of air. So I’m left to question…… Now what?

So what are the consequences when you follow your heart but your mind tells you to head the other way? You are left searching for the right path to go, the right choices to make and the next problem to linger. All of these questions sort of take a toll on your happiness. My goal in life is to remain happy. But when I follow my mind, my happiness may sometimes become restricted. If I follow my heart, I never want to seem incompetent or foolish.

To make things worse, it doesn’t help to ask anyone else. One because no one can tell me what my heart feels. Then two, people tend to think what they believe is a common sense choice is right and all so obvious.. Yeah, no. Not so much.

What a comforting feeling to know we can always make decisions so easy…. NOT! I struggle with the battle my mind and heart have over certain situations. Sure, you may say always go with your gut instinct and follow our heart. However, that’s always easier said than done.

Just when I the opportunity to follow my heart comes along, i ask my self if this is the right thing to do. Then I feel my mind tugging on my heart and whispering “Hell no! Go the other way!”

~Am I N_My_Write_Mind?

Leave a Reply

