Let me upgrade you

Two disclaimers 1. This has been in edit for a while and does not describe my current situation 2.Yes, big fan of Beyonce. I absolutely love the song Upgrade!

The song says a lot about a woman’s character and what she’ll do for her significant other. It wasn’t until I was put in a situation where I found myself upgrading a man….. Not a good look. To sum it up, I felt like it was more of him using me instead of helping.

There’s a fine line between support, understanding and sticking it out until it gets better. But let’s be realistic. I’m 27, single and no kids. I don’t want to be stuck trying to bring a man up to my level. Finding myself playing step mom and taking care of children that aren’t mine is not an option. These kids may or not become my official step children. We’ll cross that road when we get there.

Just as I work, pay my bills and go to school, I expect a man to bring at least that to the table. You don’t have to be the bread winner and I’m not saying you have to be some top notch corporate thug. All I want is for someone to understand money is not the issue. The issue is when you become lazy and unwilling to being what you have to the table. This leads to me being the man in the relationship. I’m not a man, nor am I willing to step up to that role.

I don’t want to be in a situation where I’m taking care of a man. That is, he should be just as taking capable of taking care of himself and me (although that’s not what I need). I understand helping out if things get rough. However, what can’t happen is that you bring absolutely nothing to the table and I’m stuck trying to pull you up where I am.

So how about we arrive at the same level and we upgrade together?

~Am I N_My_Write_Mind?

Leave a Reply

