Corporate Thug Problems

We all know what corporate thugging is. It’s when you go into Corporate America and you take over!… Eh, doesn’t quite work that way though. I’ve had to ease my way into corporate thugging status. I’m use to going in, learning my way around and using the system to get to where I need to be. You know the routine: Go in. Learn as much as you can. Soak up everything they are willing to teach you. Then use that at your advantage to move up. *Pause. This hasn’t quite worked out for me this last time around. 

My current dilemma is trying to find a job that relates to my Masters Degree. In January I’ll be graduating with my Masters in Human Resources. The main problem I have is in my job search I get really nervous about the job requirements. While I understand that I’ll be a fresh graduate, I have no experience. Most jobs require 3-5 years experience. I continually ask myself how do I obtain human resources experience if most jobs require experience that I don’t hold?

Trying to be loyal to the company I already work for, I asked around to see how I could advance and grow in the company. Their response: we need you to stay unhappy with your current position as we don’t really have room for you to grow. Sure that wasn’t their response. However that’s how it’s perceived. I felt that sting from leadership’s palm after it slapped me in the face. With me being a Leo, I’m loyal by nature. But when being disloyal has a great cause, I’m all for it.

Don’t get me wrong, I am forever grateful for my position as I know that some are not so lucky to have a job. When I was first offered the position, I was faced with choosing this job and another position. Both were the same but the other paid more. Of course I took the job paying less money but it was at first glance promising. Now, I’m stuck with a position with no growth. Not only that, Ill have a degree that I can’t seem to get my toes wet in. 

I’m normally good at at least getting my toes wet and learning really quickly. However, I’m realizing that a degree means nothing and its simply experience thats needed. Being educated is a method that doesn’t seem to be working out for me. This cause for an extreme measure of networking! This is what I call corporate thug problems!

~Am I N_My_Write_Mind?

One thought on “Corporate Thug Problems

  1. I totally understand where you are coming from. Networking is a major key its a lot about who you know. It is also about education. You have a masters so you know you will be picked over someone with an associates any day. A lot of companies are looking for dedication and earning a masters is surely proof of that. If your network is small or none like mines for example you have to target companies that are up and coming or companies that are not interested in who you know but what you know. There are just as many out there if not more. Yes networking is important but education and expertise gained from school is also in great demand. Basically if you already know what your doing and have a degree to prove it you are gold to many companies. This is because they don’t have to spend money on training or risk loss big or small hiring someone without an education out of desperation because the position needs to be filled or have to deal with poor turnover. You can replace or have first priority for these positions all the time. Companies will even be in competition to hire you offering high pay, benefits, 401k, everything. Don’t forget the fact that employers need employees. Companies need you so wave that masters with genuine pride and enjoy the corporate world for all its worth and I imagine its worth almost infinite. Looking for a job is a job itself in my opinion is the hardest part keeping it is easy. Peace and Blessings…

Leave a Reply

