“I Told You So Anthem”

Ah em!…. So we’ve all had those moments when that loved one close to you  doesn’t have to say it but you know they are thinking it. That’s right. When you hear that “I told you so” anthem play in the back of your head. It is one of those humbling yet embarrassing moments in life.

In an earlier post, I mentioned being in a long distance relationship. Needless to say, it has failed. I blame myself only because I was too busy trying to prove everyone else wrong and wasn’t paying attention to reality. It wasn’t just one or two people telling me it wouldn’t work. There were numerous. But having tenacious blood running through me, I was determined that I was going to do everything to make it work. Instead of listening, I confidently try to defy the inevitable. “My situation is different”… In reality it couldn’t be anything more then the same.

The only thing I succeeded in was another failed relationship. To top it off, I’be now had to take that walk of shame. I admit I was too prideful in thinking I had conquered and mastered the almighty LONG DISTANCE RELATIONSHIP. I kept most of our relationship to myself. When I told people I was in a long distance relationship, the automatically gave that look. You know, the blank stare followed by a raised brow and tucked in lips.

With all this being said, I’m not upset. I just take it as a learning experience. In fact, its a blessing. A person extremely close to me always says “God is sending you all of these counterfeits so you will be prepared for and capable of recognizing the real thing.” I absolutely believe in this statement…..When that time comes, I’ll be sure to hear her singing that annoying anthem of “I told you so”. Then I’ll just reply “I know. I know”.

~Am I N_My_Write_Mind?

Leave a Reply

