Regulated Pastime

My boss and I were in a conversation regarding a work related matter. At the end of the conversation he says, “Hey, make sure you watch what you post on Facebook and Twitter.” I thought he was jokingly saying it because I’m on Twitter at work. At the time, I just brushed it off and said ok.

After I thought about it for a while, I thought “Geesh! I don’t even log into my Facebook. However, I am on Twitter all day.” But I don’t think I had ever posted anything tremendously wrong. Almost twenty minutes later, the director calls me in her office. “Oh my goodness. What have I done?”

She sits me down and says she just wants to talk about why I feel some kinda way about my job. She mentions that there were some comments made on Twitter where they sensed that I was unhappy about my job. They wanted to remind me that I shouldn’t post any negative remarks about the company.

At this point my wheels are spinning. I’ve never posted anything that was directed to the company I work for. Not once have I mentioned the company by name, or anyone that I work with by name. I do believe in confidentiality. Sure I have posted comments where I’ve let out my frustration. What job doesn’t have stressful or frustrating moments? I’ve posted comments like “This lady is getting on my nerves”, “I don’t get paid enough do deal with this stress”, “I think I’m going to start searching for another job”. You get the point. These are not incriminating remarks. These are merely my thoughts for the moment.

My second thought was why in the world are you searching through social media? I try to keep my work life and personal life separate. I only talk to less than a handful of people outside of work. My conclusion on this one? You go searching for trouble, you’ll find it.” The company’s conclusion: “You are a leader of this company. There are some things you just should do or say.”

Wait a minute…. I thought this was MY personal pastime. The company I work for may be a part of social media and have their own pages. But, I would not be a part of those pages. Nor would I ever comment to show any affiliation.

I should be able to write, talk and post what I want. My thoughts are not a reflection of the company. My job performance is not hindered or altered in any way. My Facebook, Twitter and blogs are a part of me. I thought about deleting all of my social media pages.  I thought about it long and hard. At the end of the day, what I do or say outside of the company is my pastime. There should not be a deep investigation or any type of regulation. In that case, it wouldn’t be MY pastime. My personal life should not be monitored, regulated, controlled or limited by my professional life.

~Am I N_My_Write_Mind?

Leave a Reply

