I Cheated On Writing With Music

Over the years, I’ve come to develop a second love. Yes. You’ve guessed it… Music. I listen to all genres. From R&B to Alternative, I can relate. Some call me weird or question why I would even listen to anything other R&B or Rap? My answer: Don’t knock it til you try it.”

Although, I’ve fallen in love with writing and I’m truely committed to the art of words, I have soft spot for music. Writing allows me to put my thoughts on paper. No one can take my thoughts away from me. I love the rush when I’m able to effectively use word play while conveying my point to others. Writing is not only a stress reliever, it’s a hobby and and art.

Music on the other hand is someone else’s thoughts. It’s my way of relating. I may hear a song on the radio or online and say “How ironic that I’m feeling this way right now.” There’s that other perk of music. Yep, that’s it. The words along with those instruments. The art of flowing words with the right instruments and beats makes me smile.

Everyone knows my first love is writing. I have over 100 notebooks with my thoughts, poetry and short stories. In my purse, I keep a journal for just in case. I never know when I’ll have an  “Ah ha!” moment and need to write it down. On the other hand, I have countless cd’s. This isn’t even counting the iTunes purchases. I had to purchase an external drive to store my music. Good thing, music isn’t on records anymore.

Who said you couldn’t be in love with two things at once? I think of it as me cheating on writing with music. I’m bobbing my head and singing along to a 90’s R&B compilation while I’m typing out the words. Oh the joy of combining my two loves!

~Am I N_My_Write_MInd?

Leave a Reply

