Indirect Reponse

Social networking has become a routine in almost everyone’s daily schedule. First there was Black Planet, then MySpace and Facebook. Now the most popular is Twitter.

I can only speak for myself but I start my day with a “Good Morning” tweet and ends most of the time with a “Good Night”.  Most of the time, tweeting can be a list of what I’m doing. Or even a simple thought I have. I follow people because I’m curious to know what they are doing. I’ve even grown fond of inspirational tweets.
Even as I’m typing this blog, I stopped to check my timeline. It’s like an addiction. I can say what I want, when I want and get an immediate response from anyone.

The problem I have with Twitter is the need for people to comment indirectly to someone else’s tweets. More specifically, subtweeting.

When I tweet something, it’s my opinion or my thought. I’ve become a victim of this concept of subtweeting. I’ve noticed that certain people will post a response. However, they will not mention me in response to my tweet. Maybe it’s for the sake of avoiding twitter beef. Maybe it’s because they just want to get a response from their followers. Either way, something is being said indirectly about someone else.

Just when we think this social networking could eliminate drama, it brings more. My thoughts and actions belong to me. I own my tweets. Whether you agree, disagree or have additional remarks on what I tweet, then you should also mention me so others know where your thoughts about me or what I tweet originated.

~Am I N_My_Write_Mind?

Leave a Reply

