I Aint Too Proud To Beg

One of the most important life lessons I’ve learned is simple. You can not accomplish everything in life on your own. Some things you simply just need a little help. Sure, I do agree with the quote, “If you want something done right, do it yourself.” But to add to that, if the task is big enough sometimes you have to delegate duties to others to get the job done.

I have a project that I’ve been working on for a while. Ha! I say a while and it’s been a few years. This is because I’ve been extremely shy about showcasing my work. Part of this is because of a fear I have about other people’s opinions. I know, I know that doesn’t make sense especially since I have a blog where the entire world can view my opinion about certain issues. I do consider blogging a different channel of expression.

I finally worked up enough nerve to ask two friends to help me. This project is big enough that I had to roll it out in halves. For some reason, I felt the first half was complete enough for them to look over it. Not only was I asking for them to look over it and give me their opinion, I asked for editing suggestions, plus positive and negative criticism. I’m going all in.

After a while, I’ve realized that asking for help is not all that bad. The people that I asked, I trust them enough to help me so what was the big idea. The truth: I was scared to climb over the self built wall I had. Nothing will ever get done unless you make an effort. No effort, no accomplishment. Nothing is going to magically finish itself.

After fighting all these internal battles, I’ve had to give myself a pep talk. My own words of encouragement: Put your best foot forward and get it done. With that being said, I’m ready for the long road ahead to get this project done.

~Am I N_My_Write_Mind?

Leave a Reply

