I Put Aside What I Love the Most

My best friend asked why I hadn’t blogged in a while. “Good question đŸ˜¦ ” I responded. This one is a two part answer to this question. I first have a fear of not writing to the standards of everyone’s liking (blog about this coming soon). Secondly, I just get sidetracked.

The truth is, I get so caught up in trying to discover my next hustle. Just for a moment, deep inside I believe if my tithes are paid, my bills are caught up and I have a job, then I have no worries. When in fact, I worry more. Sure these positive gestures issue a small window of bliss. However, that comfort only lasts until due dates come back around.

Then I begin to ponder. What is it that actually makes me happy? Is it my lifetime dream or a right now hustle? There is a difference in pursuing something you love and pursuing something for the money. Writing gives me the comfort of warmth. But where did that warmth go? If I’m working on my happiness and what makes me happy then nothing else matters. Right?…..

Well, you all know how I feel about excuses. This is certainly not an excuse. As a matter of fact, this is a confession.  Missing in action on this blog is entirely my fault. I get side tracked, busy and consumed with the daily tests of life. You would think this would pressure me more to write and share more but it doesn’t.

The same goes for my relationship with God. Too many times I’ve caught myself, putting any thing and anyone before God. What harm will it do to take a few minutes out of my day to acknowledge God? Prayer and meditation are essential. Instead, I’m too occupied with my job, family, money and….you guessed it, twitter!

The truth: there are two things that make me happy in life: my relationship with God and writing.

~Am I N_My_Write_Mind?

Leave a Reply

