The Company We Keep

What we do and who we associate with tell us a lot about who we are. I’m a firm believer of the the phrase “Birds of a feather, flock together” I don’t think that that it means that you always agree or do the exact same things your friends or associates do. You are friends and associates with people who share the same interests as you. There is such thing as having different opinions, views, reactions and reasons for certain situations.

As I was packing some pictures, I noticed how different my friends are and how I’m different from all of my friends. Looking at pictures and reminiscing made me ponder on how much we as people change. As we go through life and undergo different experiences, wisdom grows.

These pictures made me realize that although I may have been friends and associated with someone in the past, it doesn’t necessarily mean that it would be the same for present day. My senior book from high school showed how I changed through out high school. My college pictures showed how I matured from “no care in the world” to “hello real world”.

There was one photo in particular which brought back so many memories. It was of me and of a person I was really close to in high school. She and I did everything from skipping school, worked together and had all of our classes together. I can truly say she was a great influence on my high school years.

Of course we don’t talk. I haven’t talked to her since my junior year of high school. Staring at the picture, I’m sure I would have had an extremely different experience in high school. I also knowI probably wouldn’t have been as adventurous if it wasn’t for her. I consider this as a good thing and I wouldn’t take it back for the world.

It is funny how the company we keep can have an effect on our lives. Whether it’s our decisions we make, advice we give and experiences we endure, our friends and those we associate with are a major part of how we live and how we are viewed.

~Am I N_My_Write_Mind?

Leave a Reply

