Necessity for Nuptials and Pressure for Pregnancy

I was standing in my mom’s bathroom brushing my hair when she comes in and hovers over me.

“Ma, why are you being so weird?”

“I’m not being weird.I’m just watching you brush your hair. You are so pretty.”

“Uh, thanks ma.” I replied then a blank stare followed.

“I’m just trying to find out why you don’t have a boyfriend. I mean you’re smart, no kids and really cute.

“Ummm, I don’t know mom. But I really don’t feel like talking about this right now.”

“Well, your dad and I are ready for someone to get married and have kids because we wouldn’t mind having grandchildren. All of these weddings you are in and going to this summer. Doesn’t that make you want the same thing?”

She went on and on about how I’m the oldest so I should be the first to get married and have kids. A part of me wanted to explain to my mom how things work in the real world. However, I would have wasted my entire morning trying to explain how I could have been married and had kids.

These comments tend to bother me and hurt my feelings. There were also occasions when I’ve done  a self evaluation because I believed I was the reason why I was still single. However, reality is I am SINGLE. I do not have any kids and the way things are going, I don’t think that is in my near future.

This pressure from friends, my parents (especially my mom) and myself gets overwhelming at times. Sure, I want to get married and have kids. The fact is, those are two things I would love to have. It just hasn’t happened. Until then, this need for nuptials and pressure for pregnancy will just be one of those petpeeves that make me cringe every time the subject arises.

~Am I N_My_Write_Mind?

2 thoughts on “Necessity for Nuptials and Pressure for Pregnancy

Leave a Reply

