The customer is alway right

We’ve come to know this phrase quite well. For some reason we’ve been taught that its true. We then use it as a crutch to get our point across.

However, during a recent encounter with a doctor at work, I have to say that I completely disagree with this statement. There is no such thing as always right. It just doesnt exist.

I work for a health insurance company. I help the providers with claims and eligibility issues.I came across a provider who knew she was right. I couldn’t tell her otherwise. The doctor argued that she billed her claim correct and it should have paid.

“Ok, lady. Ill give you the benefit of the doubt and l’ll take a look at it for you.” I thought.

I pull up her claim and found that she saw the patient for services not covered. The insured had pregnancy coverage only. The doctor billed for flu shots.

Correct me if Im wrong, but does the flu have anything to do with pregnancy? No? Ok.

She then continues to argue that its our fault that we did not notify her.  I asked, “Well, doctor, isn’t it your job to check eligibility before you see the patient before services are provided?”

With that simple question i proved two things:
1. Customers are not always right. People use the statement when they know they’re wrong.
2. If everyone joined in to do their own jobs, we wouldn’t have to depend on statements like “The customer is always right”

-Am I N-MY-WRITE-MIND?

Leave a Reply

