Suspect

Being in a relationship and being single are two totally diffent things. When you’re in a relationship there are limits on who you talk to and what you do. When you’re single you can pretty much do whatever the hell you feel and talk to whomever you like.

I had a recent conversation with a person who will be left unamed who begged to differ. Unlike me, she is married. However that does not stop her from having conversations with “friends” of the opposite sex.

Now these friends have been a little more than friends with benefits in the past. But, she continues to keep them near although she’s married. I was burning to ask her, “What do you guys talk about?” She continued to tell me how her husband doesn’t know about her friends and he thinks she’s always talking to females.

I tried really hard to hold it in. But I couldn’t. “Umm. Ok. What in the world do you guys talk about? I’m confused.”

“We talk about old times, stuff I’m not comfortable talking to my husband about, what could have been, what our kids have in common. Really all kinds of stuff.”

I know what you guys are thinking because I was thinking the same thing….. Did she just say, stuff I’m not comfortable talking to my husband about? Yep, that’s exactly what she said. She then told me, its the same thing as me being single and having friends.

I could go on all day about our conversation but there are a few points to this blog.

1. I am DEFINITELY not relationship expert. It’s been a long time since I’ve been in one. On the other hand, I do know that if I’m married or in a relationship, we should be friends first before anything. I should be able to talk to you about anything.

2. I’m not saying that you can’t have friends of the opposite sex. But I do think that it’s an issue when it’s someone you were previously involved with.

3. I would be honest enough to let my husband know who it is that I talk to. Why are you sneaking around talking to “your friends”? This sneaking around mess, is grounds for SUSPICION!

~Am I N-My-Write-Mind?

Leave a Reply

